Call Us


DidYou Know

1. Bank of Bengal was established in 1806 in Kolkata. It was the first presidency bank of India, followed by Bank of Bombay in 1840 and Bank of Madras in 1843. Presidency Banks were amalgamated into the Imperial Bank of India (IBI) which was established in 27th January 1921, on 30th April 1955, RBI renamed Imperial Bank of India (IBI) as State Bank of India.
2. The first Indian bank to open a branch outside India in London in 1946 and the first to open a branch in continental Europe at Paris in 1974 was Bank of India.
3. The oldest Public Sector Bank in India is Allahabad Bank.
4. The first Bank to Introduce ATM in India was HSBC.
5. The first Bank to introduce saving Bank in India was Presidency bank in 1833.
6. The first Bank to Introduce Cheque system in India was Bengal Bank 1784.
7. The first Bank to introduce Internet Banking was ICICI Bank.
8. The first Bank to introduce Mutual Fund was State Bank of India.
9. The first Bank to introduce Credit Card in India was Central Bank of India.
10. The first Foreign Bank in India was Comptoire d’Escompte de Paris of France in 1860.
11. The first Regional Rural Bank named Prathama Grameen Bank was started by was Syndicate Bank.
12. RBI was established on the recommendation of Hilton Young Commission on April 1, 1935, Panther and Palm tree are the emblem of RBI.
13. The Central Office of Reserve Bank of India was initially established in Calcutta and then moved to Mumbai in 1937.
14. There are 4 printing presses of RBI which print notes in: Dewas (M.P.), Nashik (Maharastra), Mysore (Karnataka) and Salboni (WB).
15. The 1st Governor of RBI was Sir Osborne Smith (1935-1937), The 1st Indian to be made Governor of RBI was CD Deshmukh (1943-1949).
16. Manmohan Singh is the only Prime Minister who was also the Governor of RBI (1982-1985).
17. It can issue currency notes as much as the country requires, provided India has the security deposit of Rs. 200 Crores, out of which Rs 115 crore must be in gold and 85 crores must be in forex reserves.
18. The amount of the note is printed in 15 different regional languages of India, on each bank note printed by the RBI.


Notice Board